Design Review Board

Kirkland Urban Conceptual Massing Graphic.JPG

The Design Review Board (DRB) reviews projects for consistency with applicable business district design guidelines and approved master plans.   The seven members are appointed by the City Council to four-year terms.  The DRB meets regularly on the 1st and 3rd Monday of the month at 7 PM in the City Council Chamber.  It uses the professional staff services of the Planning and Building Department. 


Next DRB Meeting

The October 18, 2021 regular meeting of the Design Review Board has been cancelled. The next scheduled meeting is November 1, 2021.

Public Service Announcement: In response to guidance from Public Health Seattle-King County, we encourage members of the community to implement social distancing as much as possible and in the interim use the following methods to interact at the DRB meeting. The virtual meeting audio will be recorded and posted on the City's website.

Public comments will be accepted during the Requests From the Audience portion of the meeting. Written comments will be accepted by emailing the project planner associated with each project. More information can be found on the Public Comments and Procedures page.

Date: November 1, 2021

Time: 7 PM

Location: Virtual/Zoom Meeting Information 

  • The agenda and meeting packets will be posted approximately 1 week prior to the meeting.

 

If you have any questions or comments regarding this agenda item please contact the project staff member Tony Leavitt, or call 425-587-3253.

 

If you have any questions regarding the meeting, please contact Jon Regala, Planning Supervisor, or call 425-587-3255.


Past Meeting Archive      Past Minutes & Recordings     DRB Decisions

Note: The City of Kirkland appreciates the interest of our citizens and values public involvement. We make every effort to make the recordings of our meetings available soon after each meeting is completed. However, due to technical difficulties that may occur with our digital recording system it may take up to four days for a recording to become available online. We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.

Subscribe to Design Review Board E-mail List


Meet the Design Review Board

Shoshana Cohen - Chair (term expires 03/31/2022)

Shoshana Cohen - Chair, Houghton Neighborhood

Shoshana Cohen DRB bio photo 2020.jpgShoshi moved to Kirkland five years ago from Israel. She graduated with her BS degree in International Relations and East Asian Studies from the Hebrew University.  After several years, she shifted from her international Marketing and Business career to pursue her passion: boutique architectural design in 2014. Currently the owner and operator of a local interior designs studio since 2016, and has worked on projects throughout Kirkland and the northwest, with emphasis on elevating current home structures to match the latest global design trends, using an affordable pricing model.

Shoshi and her family chose Kirkland as a home away from home due to the unique characteristics of our quaint city. She began to see Kirkland as a small town with a large urban context, and started seeking opportunities to participate in ways to keep the Kirkland Vibe; safe, beautiful, and pedestrian friendly while embracing the rapid changes the area is going through. 

Shoshi enjoys hiking, painting and learning languages. 

 

 

 

Adam Crain - Vice Chair (term expires 03/31/2022)

Adam Crain, - Vice Chair, Finn Hill Neighborhood

crain adam DRB photo bio.jpgAdam moved to Kirkland in 2018, transplant from Washington DC. He maintains an architectural practice there while enjoying Kirkland's lifestyle and the beauty of the Pacific Northwest. Specializing in multifamily and mixed-use development, he was drawn to the Design Review Board to engage with the local community on projects that define the future of the city. He is a graduate of Virginia Tech's College of Architecture and Urban Studies, is a licensed architect and LEED AP.

Along with serving on the DRB, he is obtaining his Commercial Real Estate Certificate from the University of Washington. In his free time he enjoys trail running, hiking and volcanology.

 

 

 

Carlos Castaneda (term expires 03/31/2025)

Carlos Castaneda, Norkirk Neighborhood

Carlos Castaneda Design Review Board Member Carlos is an active member of Kirkland’s Design Review Board where he reviews projects for consistency with applicable business district design guidelines.  

He moved to Kirkland from Mexico City in 2016 and has been drawn by the nature, outdoor activities (multiple trails) and the tranquility that the City of Kirkland offers. Carlos holds a B.A. in Architecture, he is a registered architect in Mexico, a LEED Green Associate and is currently seeking licensure in the United States. Prior to his relocation, he collaborated with multiple architecture firms working on residential and commercial projects in Mexico and the United States. 

Beyond his current professional experience with Architecture leading commercial roll-out programs, he focuses on building strong relationships with clients, colleagues and teams. Carlos is an avid salsa dancer, runner and enjoys painting and riding anything that has two wheels on it. 

Randal Brand (term expires 03/31/2023)

Randal Brand, Norkirk Neighborhood

Randal Brand 2021 Design Review Board Member I have been extremely fortunate to have lived in Kirkland for the better part of 42 years. I arrived in Kirkland following my graduation from the University of Nebraska with degrees in Architecture and Construction Management, and later obtaining my MBA from Seattle University.

My wife, Juanita, and I have raised our two children here in Kirkland. As they grew up, we remained active at Kirkland Junior High and Lake Washington High School, Little League, Boys Scouts, Girl Scouts, church, and other community events and activities across the eastside. We have enjoyed our many years raising our children and living in Kirkland.  

I am a Registered Architect and have worked in the design, construction, and real estate development industries throughout the western United States. I have had the opportunities to present to many Design Review Boards, Planning Commissions, and City Councils up and down the West Coast. This expertise, education, and my many years of living in Kirkland are what I have sought to bring to the City of Kirkland Design Review Board to serve Kirkland residents for a better and bright future for our community. 

Brad Brown (term expires 03/31/2023)

Brad Brown, Rose Hill Neighborhood

Brad Brown DRB 2020 photo.jpg Brad has served on the Kirkland Design Review board for the past seven years. He holds a Master of Architecture degree and has worked in the design and construction industry for 11 years.

He is dedicated to serving his community, and loves volunteering for a variety of groups. Brad believes that well-designed cities, neighborhoods, and buildings improve the lives of their community. 

 

 

Ting Chen (term expires 03/31/2024)

Ting Chen CROPPED IMG_0825.jpg Ting Chen, Rose Hill Neighborhood

Ting Chen was born and raised in China and moved to Kirkland in 2009.  She studied Architecture and Urban Design, graduating from the University of Washington with a Master’s Degree in Urban Planning.  After graduating, Ting worked as a project engineer in the construction field and gained experience in the building process; she has worked for local general contractors managing the construction of both residential and commercial projects.  Ting is currently a project manager with MN Custom Homes LLC.  While learning the means and methods of construction, Ting has realized the importance of integrating people, design, and construction to make a project successful. 

Ting lives with her husband and two boys in the Rose Hill neighborhood.  Ting enjoys reading and outdoor activities with her family.  

 

Amy Tarce - (term expires 3/31/2025)

Amy Tarce,  Kingsgate Neighborhood

Amy Tarce DRB.jpg Amy Tarce brings over 25 years of experience in Urban Design and Planning to the Design Review Board through her various professional roles in the past as a planner and urban designer in Chicago, Washington, DC and the eastside cities of Seattle. As a planner, she has staffed multi-agency coordinating committees for federal, regional and local entities in the Washington Metropolitan Region, a neighborhood advisory committee for the City of Alexandria, and the Design Review Board for the City of Redmond. She has decades of experience presenting neighborhood plans and development projects to neighborhood groups, design review boards, development and planning commissions, and city councils.

Ms. Tarce hopes to contribute in guiding the future growth of Kirkland using her diverse professional planning experience. As a planning consultant in Chicago, Ms. Tarce developed transit-oriented development plans for two Chicago neighborhoods served by the Green Line elevated train stations, and master plans for two mixed-income, mixed-use neighborhoods in New Orleans and Chicago. As a Principal Planner for the City of Alexandria, she managed the development review of a 100-acre redevelopment plan for a former railyard into a vibrant, walkable, mixed-use New Urbanist neighborhood with a town center, an award-winning fire station with affordable housing and a new Metro Station. As a planner for the federal government, she managed the Climate Adaptation and Floodplain Management program for federal lands in Washington, DC and contributed to the update of the Parks and Open Space Plan of the National Capital. In the Seattle area, she has managed the Development Review of Redmond’s City Hall, the Macy’s Department Store and the full-service Marriott Hotel in Redmond Town Center, the Redmond River Park Development Agreement Design Standards, and discretionary approval of two Issaquah School District schools, as well as one of the first large-scale residential developments to implement the Central Issaquah Plan.

Ms. Tarce first moved to Kirkland in 2002, and through the years, has watched the growth and transformation of the city into a more dynamic and urbanized suburb of Seattle. Ms. Tarce believes livable and sustainable communities are achievable with a clear vision and a partnership of dedicated citizens and inspired city leaders, and hopes to contribute in implementing the City of Kirkland’s vision for a safe, walkable, vibrant and environmentally-sustainable city. Her passion for building great communities has always extended beyond her day job. She has conducted Design Review training for her fellow planners in several Snohomish County jurisdictions and for the City of Redmond. She loves to travel and has visited over 50 cities around the world.  She uses her vacations to visit walkable and sustainable cities and turns them into personal case studies of successful public realm designs. With her new role as a Design Review Board member for the City of Kirkland, she hopes to continue to share her passion and love for great urban design.