KIRKLAND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Minutes of Regular (hybrid) Meeting December 14, 2022

1. CALL TO ORDER (0:00)

December 14, 2022, Transportation Commission Regular meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chair Kurt Ahrensfeld.

2. ROLL CALL

Members Present: Chair Kurt Ahrensfeld, Vice-Chair Faith DeBolt, AJ Antrim, Shree Balamurugan, Rafael Fernandez, Brian Magee, Patrick Vu

Members Absent: None

Staff Present: Joel Pfundt, Julie Underwood, Victoria Kovacs, Ray Steiger

Transpo Group Staff: Brett Schock

Recording Secretary: Franz Lumbad

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (1:07)

Mr. Magee moved to approve the October 26, 2022, Meeting Minutes. Motion seconded by Mr. Vu. Approved unanimously.

4. ITEMS FROM THE AUDIENCE (1:53)

Lisa McConnell commented on the importance of safety, separation of modes, speed reduction and transit as part of the NE 85th St Station Area Plan.

5. LAKE ST S/LAKE WASHINGTON BLVD NE PROMENDADE ANALYSIS AND CONCEPT DEVELOPMENT STUDY UPDATE (5:49)

Victoria Kovacs, Transportation Planner, and Brett Schock, Project Manager, Transpo Group, provided a second update on the Lake Street S/Lake Washington Boulevard NE Promenade Analysis and Concept Development Study. Ms. Kovacs, Mr. Schock, and staff gathered input and answered questions from the Commission on the study results and options prior to presenting study results to City Council. The Commission preferred Option 1 – Protected Bike Lanes, East Parking.

6. TRANSPROTATION BENEFIT DISTRICT IMPLEMENTATION (1:00:44)

Ray Steiger, ATP Project Manager, provided an update on Kirkland's Transportation Benefit District (TBD). Mr. Steiger and staff gathered feedback from the Commission on the final TBD project list and the proposed program delivery. The Commission supported moving forward with implementing the TBD to accelerate delivery of pedestrian and bicycle safety projects.

7. ELECTION FOR 2023 CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR (1:23:28)

Nominations were requested for 2023 Transportation Commission Chair. Faith DeBolt was the only nomination and was approved unanimously. Nominations were requested for 2023 Transportation Commission Vice-Chair. Brian Magee was the only nomination and was approved unanimously.

8. COMMENTS/UPDATES FROM COMMISSIONERS AND STAFF (1:27:19)

Staff and the Commission discussed the updates listed on the agenda.

Additional comments from Staff and Commissioners: Appreciation for the many multimodal transportation projects the City is working on, request to send City vision survey.

9. ADJOURNMENT	
Mr. Ahrensfeld adjourn t	he meeting at approximately 7:48 p.m.
 Julie Underwood	 Kurt Ahrensfeld
Julie Office Wood	Ruit Ailleilsield
Public Works Director	Chair Transportation Commission