Council Meeting: 06/15/2021 Agenda: Approval of Minutes Item #: 8. a. (3)



1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Penny Sweet called the special meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Members Present: Deputy Mayor Jay Arnold, Councilmember Neal Black,

Councilmember Kelli Curtis, Councilmember Amy Falcone,

Councilmember Toby Nixon, Councilmember Jon Pascal, and Mayor

Penny Sweet.

Members Absent: None.

LIBRARY BOARD INTERVIEWS

a. Morgan Lee

- b. Myrna Bravo
- c. Hannah Goodmansen
- d. Julia Nolan
- e. Anne Rudden
- f. Cindy Wilson

4. HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION INTERVIEWS

- a. Laney Brackett
- b. Jory Hamilton
- c. Jonathan Stutz
- d. Juan Antonio Avila
- e. Pallavi Bhandarkar
- f. Alavna Brand
- g. Gabriela Lopez Vasquez
- h. Emma Mercer
- i. Margit Moore
- j. Sanaz Saadat

5. CULTURAL ARTS COMMISSION INTERVIEWS

- a. Meredith Triplett
- b. Michelle Lustgarten
- c. Ashlie Beach
- d. Carolyn Billings
- e. Alan Harrison
- f. Michele Kelly
- g. Chris Lye
- h. Michael Potter

- i. Donielle Stevens
- i. Prashant Walia
- 6. SELECTION AND APPOINTMENT OF LIBRARY BOARD, HUMAN SERVICES COMMISSION, AND CULTURAL ARTS COMMISSION MEMBERS

Councilmember Nixon moved to clarify the length of time all alternates selected during the interviews on May 24 and May 27, 2021 would be eligible for appointment should a vacancy arise on the designated board or commission would be until the commencement of the 2022 annual board and commission recruitment. Councilmember Falcone seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Councilmember Black moved to appoint Julia Nolan to a four-year term ending March 31, 2025 and to appoint Hannah Goodmansen to the remainder of an unexpired term ending March 31 2023 on the Library Board, and to select Cindy Wilson as an alternate appointee should an additional vacancy arise on the Board prior to the commencement of the 2022 annual recruitment. Councilmember Curtis seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Councilmember Nixon moved to waive the interview requirement for the youth applicant on the Human Services Commission, Councilmember Pascal seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Councilmember Nixon moved to reappoint Jory Hamilton and Jonathan Stutz, and appoint Gabriela Lopez Vazquez and (Juan) Antonio Avila to four-year terms ending March 31, 2025, and to appoint Laney Brackett to a two-year term ending March 31, 2023 as the youth member on the Human Services Commission, and to select Sanaz Saadat as an alternate appointee should an additional vacancy arise on the Commission prior to the commencement of the 2022 annual recruitment. Councilmember Falcone seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Councilmember Falcone moved to appoint Chris Lye and Donielle Stevens to four-year terms ending March 31, 2025, reappoint Michelle Lustgarten and appoint Prashant Walia to three-year terms ending March 31, 2024, and to appoint Meredith Triplett to a two-year term ending March 31, 2023 as the youth member on the Cultural Arts Commission, and to select Michael Potter as an alternate appointee should an additional vacancy arise on the Commission prior to the commencement of the 2022 annual recruitment. Councilmember Curtis seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

_		17
,		
/ .	ADJOURNMEN	v I

Kathi Anderson, City Clerk

The Kirkland City Council special meeting of May 27, 2021 was adjourned at 9:35 p.m.	

Penny Sweet, Mayor