

KIRKLAND CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES May 24, 2021

1. CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Penny Sweet called the special meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Members Present: Deputy Mayor Jay Arnold, Councilmember Neal Black, Councilmember Kelli Curtis, Councilmember Amy Falcone, Councilmember Toby Nixon, Councilmember Jon Pascal (late arrival), and Mayor Penny Sweet.

Members Absent: None

- 3. TOURISM DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE INTERVIEW
 - a. Skye Branson
- 4. SALARY COMMISSION INTERVIEWS
 - a. Paul Baer
 - b. Karen Champagne
- 5. DESIGN REVIEW BOARD INTERVIEWS
 - a. Carlos Castaneda
 - b. Lisa Cranston
 - c. Prashant Karbhari
 - d. Amy Tarce

6. PLANNING COMMISSION INTERVIEWS

- a. Katya Allen
- b. John Tymczyszyn
- c. Curt Chambers
- d. Julia Nolan
- e. Brad Weed

7. PARK BOARD INTERVIEWS

- a. Alison Cunningham
- b. Mike Holland
- c. Alethea Bielik
- d. Tessa Hansen
- e. Crystal Thimsen

8. TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION INTERVIEWS

- a. Logan Cacan
- b. Jonathan Harris
- c. Rafael de Jesus Fernandez Moctezuma
- d. AJ Antrim
- e. Michelle Quinton
- 9. SELECTION AND APPOINTMENT OF TOURISM DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE, SALARY COMMISSION, DESIGN REVIEW BOARD, PLANNING COMMISSION, PARK BOARD, AND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION MEMBERS

Councilmember Nixon moved to appoint Skye Branson to a one-year term ending March 31, 2022 on the Tourism Development Committee, Councilmember Curtis seconded the motion, which passed unanimously, with Councilmember Pascal abstaining as he had not been present for the interviews.

Councilmember Curtis moved to appoint Karen Champagne to a three-year term ending March 31, 2024 on the Salary Commission, and to select Paul Baer as an alternate appointee should an additional vacancy arise on the Commission prior to the commencement of the 2022 annual recruitment. Councilmember Falcone seconded the motion, which passed unanimously, with Councilmember Pascal abstaining as he had not been present for the interviews.

Councilmember Falcone moved to reappoint Carlos Castaneda and appoint Amy Tarce to four-year terms ending March 31, 2025 on the Design Review Board, and to select Prashant Karbhari as an alternate appointee should an additional vacancy arise on the Board prior to the commencement of the 2022 annual recruitment. Councilmember Curtis seconded the motion, which passed unanimously, with Councilmember Pascal abstaining as he had not been present for the interviews.

Councilmember Nixon moved to reappoint Katya Allen and John Tymczyszyn to fouryear terms ending March 31, 2025 on the Planning Commission, and to select Julia Nolan as an alternate appointee should an additional vacancy arise on the Commission prior to the commencement of the 2022 annual recruitment. Councilmember Black seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Councilmember Curtis moved to reappoint Mike Holland and appoint Crystal Thimsen to four-year terms ending March 31, 2025, to appoint Tessa Hansen to the remainder of an unexpired term ending March 31, 2024, and to appoint Alison Cunningham to a two-year term ending March 31, 2023 as the youth member on the Park Board, and to select Alethea Bielik as an alternate appointee should an additional vacancy arise on the Board prior to the commencement of the 2022 annual recruitment. Councilmember Falcone seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Councilmember Pascal moved to appoint Rafael de Jesus Fernandez Moctezuma and AJ Antrim (Jinae Powell) to four-year terms ending March 31, 2025 on the Transportation Commission, and to select (Mary) Michelle Quinton as an alternate appointee should an additional vacancy arise on the Commission prior to the commencement of the 2022 annual recruitment. Councilmember Falcone seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

10. ADJOURNMENT

The Kirkland City Council special meeting of May 24, 2021 was adjourned at 9:52 p.m.

Kathi Anderson, City Clerk

Penny Sweet, Mayor