KIRKLAND TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION

Minutes of Regular (virtual) Meeting March 24, 2021

1. CALL TO ORDER

March 24, 2021, Transportation Commission Regular meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chair Kurt Ahrensfeld.

ROLL CALL

Members Present: Chair Kurt Ahrensfeld, Vice-Chair Faith DeBolt, Brad Haverstein, Brian Magee, Terry Marpert, Lisa McConnell, Doug Jacobson.

Members Absent: Hayden Goldberg

Staff Present: Julie Underwood, Joel Pfundt, David Wolbrecht, Kim Scrivner

Recording Secretary: Rosalie Wessels

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Mr. Marpert moved to approve the February 24, 2021 Meeting Notes. Motion seconded by Mr. Magee.

4. ITEMS FROM THE AUDIENCE

David Allen commented in support of opening the vehicle parking lane on the west side of Lake Washington Boulevard to walkers and bikers.

Leo Gilbert commented in support of opening the vehicle parking lane on the west side of Lake Washington Boulevard to walkers and bikers on behalf Kirkland Greenways.

5. NEIGHBORHOOD SAFETY PROGRAM

David Wolbrecht, City of Kirkland Senior Neighborhood Services Coordinator provided a presentation on the 2021 Neighborhood Services Program. Mr. Wolbrecht and Staff answered questions from the Commission.

6. ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION PLAN UPDATE

Kim Scrivner, City of Kirkland Transportation Planner, provided a presentation on the City's Active Transportation Plan update. Ms. Scrivner and Staff answered questions from the Commission.

7. COMMENTS/UPDATES FROM COMMISSIONERS AND STAFF

Staff and the Commission discussed the updates listed on the agenda.

Comments from Commissioners: Capital and private development projects impacting sidewalks on Lake Washington Blvd, Lake St and Kirkland Ave Intersection Project, equity and vision zero.

Unanimously approved a motion in support of closing the same section of Park Lane as last year to vehicles for pedestrians and unanimously approved a motion in support of implementing a Lake St S/Lake Washington Blvd pedestrian promenade pilot project between 2nd Ave S and NE 60th St.

8. ADJOURNMENT	
Mr. Ahrensfeld adjourn the mee	ting at approximately 8:43 p.m.
Julie Underwood	 Kurt Ahrensfeld
Public Works Director	Chair Transportation Commission