Skip to main content
Twitter YouTube Print E-mail a friend this page Share this page

Boards and Commissions

City Council

The City Council is Kirkland’s governing body and is comprised of seven non-partisan members who are elected by the registered voters of Kirkland to serve “at large” (not representing a district or ward).  Previous City Council agenda and meeting information can be viewed online.

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission advises the City Council on all matters relating to the Kirkland Comprehensive Plan and land use regulations.  The Commission meets regularly on the 2nd and 4th Thursday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the City Council Chamber.

Houghton Community Council

The Houghton Community Council consists of seven members, elected every four years from the area formerly designated as the Town of Houghton, which joined Kirkland in August 1968.  The Houghton Community Council meets the fourth Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m. in the City Council Chamber.

Hearing Examiner

The Hearing Examiner is appointed by the City Manager in accordance with KMC Chapter 3.34 to provide independent review of Notices of Civil Violation, appeals of some decisions by City departments, and some applications for City permits.

Design Review Board

The Design Review Board (DRB) reviews and makes decisions on development projects located in designated business districts based on Kirkland design guidelines.  The DRB may also advise the City Council and Planning Commission on City design policies and regulations.  The DRB meets on the 1st and 3rd Monday of the month at 7:00 p.m.

Planning & Building Department
123 5th Avenue, Kirkland WA 98033

General Inquiries:
Contact us via the: 
Our Kirkland Customer Service Portal
T. 425.587.3600 | F. 425.587.3232