Skip to main content
Twitter YouTube Print E-mail a friend this page> Share this page

Salary Commission

NOTICE: The Kirkland Salary Commission will hold a special public meeting on Thursday, February 16, 2017.  The meeting will begin at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber at Kirkland City Hall, 123 Fifth Avenue.

 As authorized by RCW 35.21.015, in 2005 the City of Kirkland established a Salary Commission to set the salaries of the Mayor and City Council Members. The Salary Commission is made up of three citizens who are appointed for staggered terms by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council.

Current Members:
Jeffry Canin
Santos Contreras
Sara Oppler

The Salary Commission meets not less than one time per year, during the months of August or September.

At a public meeting on September 15, 2016, the Salary Commission met to review the salaries paid to the City Council. The Commission decided to maintain the monthly salary for the Mayor at $1,457 and the monthly salary for the City Council at $1,144. City Council Members will also receive the same percentage of salary increase, if any, received by the Management and Confidential (MAC) employees group in the year 2017 and shall receive any 2017 salary increase at the same time the increase is received by MAC employees. The Commission left unchanged the option for the Mayor and Council Members to have the City pay the premium for their individual participation in the City’s medical, dental, and vision package or to receive an allowance of $300 per month in lieu of receiving these benefits. The City Council will also continue to receive a monthly transportation allowance of $225.00.

At the September 15, 2016, public meeting the Commission voted to approve Resolution No. 16-001 linked below and on file with the City Clerk.


Salary Resolutions
Resolution No. 16-001 (PDF)
Resolution No. 15-001(PDF)
Resolution No. 14-001 (PDF)
Resolution No. 13-001 (PDF)
Resolution No. 12-001 (PDF)
Resolution No. 09-001 (PDF)
Resolution No. 07-001 (PDF)
Resolution No. 06-001 (PDF)

Michael Olson, Director of Finance and Administration
Kevin Raymond, City Attorney 
James Lopez, Director of Human Resources

Page updated: Jan. 5, 2016